At Valley Water we routinely answer numerous customer questions. Below are some of those asked most frequently.
Remember if you have any other questions about your service or your bill, please don't hesitate to call us at 860-747-8000
Where can I learn more about Public Act No. 13-78 and the VWS approved Revenue Adjustment Mechanism?
You can visit //www.cga.ct.gov and perform a quick search for Public Act Number 13-78.
To learn more about VWS' approved Revenue Adjustment Mechanism and Earnings Sharing Mechanism, visit www.ct.gov/pura and search for Docket 10-06-15RE01.
Or call our office at 860-747-8000 for copies of either document.
If you have any questions regarding the surcharge and/or credit or any other matter, please call us at 860-747-8000 Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM.
What is Valley Water System's Shut Off / Collection policy?
Valley Water Systems, Inc. has modified its shut off/collection policy as follows. The modification is printed in red.
Valley Water Systems sends out Shut Off notices on all balances 63 days or more past due. Customers have thirteen days from the date on the shut-off notice to make a payment or call into the office to make a payment arrangement. On the Shut off notices, customers will find the shut-off date and the minimum that has to be paid to avoid shut off. Every morning during the week of Shut-offs a customer service representative verifies if a payment was made on all the accounts that are scheduled to be shut off. If a field technician goes out to the home and collects payment, a fee of $26.19 is charged to the account. If the water is shut off and water service is restored during office hours a fee of $52.38 will be charged to the customers’ account. If water service is restored after office hours the fee charged to the customers’ account increases to $94.28.
As of June 1, 2015, if a customer pays online after 9 a.m. on the shut-off day they must call into the office to inform us of the payment. If the customer does not call to inform us and a field technician goes out to the property the collection fee will still be added to the customer account.
If you have any questions about the policy change, please do not hesitate to contact us Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. at (860) 747-8000.
CT Department of Public Health Safe Drinking Water Primacy Assessment
Public Act No. 17-2 was signed by Governor Malloy in October 2017 in which Section 676 authorizes the Department of Public Health (DPH) to collect an assessment from each water company that owns a Non-Transient Non-Community Public Water System (NTNCs) and Community Public Water System (CWSs). The assessment fees are established within the Public Act, based upon the classification and size of the water system. These fees help the State of Connecticut maintain the DPH’s Safe Drinking Water Program and meet their obligation of primacy under the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act.
The law provided allows Valley Water Systems to charge its customers the pro-rata share of the amount due to the State of Connecticut.